Dan Hibiki (CvS2 Reimagining)

JtheSaltyy

Dan Hibiki (CvS2 Reimagining)

Dan Hibiki is an arrogant, self-taught ex-student of Gouken. Meant to parody both Ryo and Robert from the SNK franchise, Capcom slowly turned Dan into an over exaggerated joke character. Dan's motive for fighting originated from one fateful day, where a towering, powerful shadaloo leader by the name of Sagat went into Go Hibiki's dojo. Go Hibiki was Dan's father, and he was about to become his student, but Go wanted to take care of Sagat first. Unfortunately, after Go kicks Sagat's eye out, Sagat beats Go to death out of blind rage. Dan had to watch as his father met a brutal end, and swore that he'd avenge his father by enacting it on his killer. Dan trained under Gouken for a short while, but upon Gouken realizing that Dan was going to use the Ansatsuken style for revenge, he kicked Dan out of his dojo, and he also did it because Dan kind of sucked, according to Ken. Eventually, he beat Sagat, but Sagat held back, knowing that he too felt the same way when Ryu scarred him, and felt pity for Dan, and Dan triumphantly set up his new Saikyo Ryu style, which would prove to be a pretty bad. However, he still fights ferociously to the very end, even if he's losing. Truly a tenacious fighter. I personally like his overall lore and gameplay.

Dan's movelist is a watered down version of more powerful characters like Ryu and Ken. His fireball, the Gadouken, doesn't even have a lot of range. His Koryuken is merely the shoryuken, and nothing more. The Dankuukyaku is actually a pretty decent special, and I'm assuming